· 

蒸発した母親

返り血に

まぶされた

朗らかな

笑顔

 

返り血に

まぶされた

穏やかな

寝顔

 

A beaming smile

with bits of your victims

caught

in your teeth.

 

Peaceful sleeping face

dusted with gory

splash-back.

 


絵画や小説、音楽や映画など、芸術に関しては、みんなの趣味がそれぞれで、好きなものは好き。気持ちを高揚させるような前向きな芸術作品を好む人もいる。それはそれでいい。

When it comes to art—paintings, books, movies, music, etc.—you like what you like. Some people like uplifting, inspirational stuff. More power to them.


ただし僕のような人にとってはそんなポジティブな作品を楽しむことは不可能だ。癒しや幸せな気分を与えようとする作品は僕らにとっては、話せない言語で書かれた詩みたいなものだ。当然のこと、理解しようがない。

But to ask a person like me to enjoy inspirational songs, stories, or greeting cards, is like asking someone to appreciate poetry written in a language they cannot speak.


元気づけようとする作品のメッセージは「人生は今のままでもう最高」だとしか考えられない、僕は。

I can't help but feel that the message of inspirational or uplifting art is, "Life is grand just as it is."


昔ハリウッドが「素晴らしき哉、人生!」という一本の映画を出した。僕には、ハリウッド映画ならほぼ全部がそういうメッセージ性をもっている。結末まで至ったら我々はみんなうなずける、そうそう、僕らそして僕らが送っている人生は正に素晴らしき哉、と思えるような仕組みの映画ばかり。甘ったるいポップソングもかわいらしすぎる絵も同様だ。

Hollywood once made a movie called "It's a Wonderful Life." To me, nearly every Hollywood movie seems to give the same message: by the end of the story, we can all nod and agree that we, and the lives we lead, are wonderful. The same goes for wind-beneath-wings pop songs and sunbeams-through-clouds-to-represent-divinity paintings.


でもそんな作品とそんな考えは、偽善的で自己欺瞞のように感じる。そんなに素晴らしい人生だったらなぜ「泣ける映画」とか「泣ける歌」が必要なのか。泣かなくていいのじゃないか、素晴らしい人生を送っている者らは。

But it feels hypocritical and self-deceptive. If life were already grand for you, why would you need a good cry over a Celine Dion song?


僕にとっては悲しい歌、暗い話、ひねくれた映画、落ち込ませる絵画の方がいい。なぜかというと先ずは、性質に似合うから。淋しさが収まるから。

I prefer sad songs, dark stories, cynical movies, and depressing paintings. For one thing, they match my mood. I feel less alone.


それに、不快にさせてくれる作品がより正直な作品だけでなく、ある意味ではより楽観的な作品だ。作品が表現している暗い現実よりもっといいものを想像するように仕向けるような刺激を与えてくれるからだ。

For another, art which makes you unhappy is not only more honest, but in a way more optimistic, because it prods your imagination into forming images of how things could be better.