· 

Omissions from the Unsaid

My very short story "Omissions from the Unsaid" has been published in Issue No. 10 of CP Quarterly. Read the issue here.

This piece of fiction has been with me for a long time. I've reworked and re-reworked it any number of times, and, though it's so short that it's barely there at all, in its diminutive way it is an important story to me.

One sometimes assumes that the more one cares for a piece, the less the world will care. Sounds melodramatic when put into words, though. When I heard from the CP Quarterly editors that the story would run, I got a small but intense jog of pleasure. Scratched on the vinyl of an old Unwound record was the phrase, "Expect the worst, hope for the best." I'm not sure what I was hoping for, but getting this story out there feels – not sure it actually makes me smile, but – smilish. If smilish were a word.

I'll end this post before I get any more maudlin. Go read the issue.