· 

Et lux perplexua luceat eis

As a person and as a writer, I've got a tendency to stick my nose in where I'm not wanted. So nobody has asked me for my thoughts—so what? "Can I just say one thing…?"

(Yes, that's an unpleasant trait. Yes, the good thing about writers is that you experience their unpleasant traits at a remove.)

The germ of the idea for my short story "Et lux perplexua luceat eis" came out of an email exchange with an acquaintance, but onto this story idea I chose to overlay the old trope of the narrator who comes from elsewhere to "investigate" things and thereby tell the tale.

That's what I was doing too. Writing a story from the outside.

The result of my intellectual nosiness, whatever its merits or shortcomings, has just been published in Grim & Gilded no. 3. You can read the story here. Better yet, you can read the entire issue here.

I hope (against hope) that Bellatrix's trespassing into the lives of others will be more interesting on the page than mine would be in real life. If you're so inclined, please have a look.